The next stage in your profession will be to get a tattoo license once you have completed your tattoo apprenticeship.
There is no federal legislation in the United States of America that regulates the art of tattooing, which we all enjoy. Instead, the requirements for obtaining a tattoo license will differ from one state to the next and even from one county to the next. As a result, you must investigate the state in which you’ll be operating.
To ensure that you are completely legal, contact your local health boards and inquire about tattooing rules and regulations in your area. They will gladly provide you with all of the information you require to keep their residents secure.
Table of Contents
To put it bluntly, the fundamental regulations governing a tattoo license are all over the place.
There is no necessity for a tattoo certification; all required is that the tattooist follows all appropriate health standards.
States like Texas and New Mexico, on the other hand, require you to either register with the state or obtain a license from their board of health.
Many states, including Virginia, expressly delegate it to be civil and municipal governments, while others have no rules or regulations in place at all.
All tattooists, on the other hand, are subject to OSHA’s authority, and as such, they must get initial and yearly training on the risks and preventive measures that must be taken to reduce the risk of occupational exposure to bloodborne pathogens.
You should be well aware of the procedures for obtaining and maintaining a tattoo license in states and counties where it is needed by law.
Some states only need that you be blood-borne pathogen certified (which you should be any way to comply with OSHA) and 18 years old, while others will require that you complete a particular number of apprentice hours and maybe pass a written test. Some states want you to pay a little charge and be done with it.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Tattoo License?
So, how much would a tattoo license set you back? That’s right, you guessed it. The cost of a license will be determined by the fees levied by your local government. I’m sure you’re starting to notice a pattern with this data.
As for the cost, though, depending on where you are, the license can run you anywhere from $25 to $250, and some last for three years while others expire yearly.
If you have any questions about the policies of your local government, you should contact their local board of health.
Also, your mentor that you apprenticed under should be able to point you in the right direction or fully go over the local laws with you.
Make sure you notify the appropriate authorities whenever you relocate to ensure you comply.